Double Your Impact and help MPP launch the Cannabis Justice Fund.
May 21, 2020
$25, cannabis possession, civil fine, civil penalty, criminal penalty, criminal records, decrim, decriminalization, fine, Gov. Ralph Northam, jail time, legalization study, marijuana possession, one ounce, personal use, rebuttable presumption, SB 2, VA, Virginia, workgroup
Earlier today, Gov. Ralph Northam signed SB 2 into law, which decriminalizes cannabis possession. Starting July 1, possession of up to an ounce will be punishable by a civil fine of up to $25 instead of a criminal penalty and potential jail time. This is the lowest fine of any decriminalization law!
Virginia now joins the 26 states and Washington, D.C. that have stopped jailing their residents for possessing small amounts of marijuana.
Here are a few details about the new law:
You can check out a full summary of the bill here.
This victory will save thousands of residents from life-altering criminal records for simple marijuana possession. A big thank you goes to our friends at Virginia NORML and everyone else working tirelessly to reform Virginia’s marijuana laws.
Be sure to share this exciting news with your family and friends in Virginia!